Blog  >  Get Your Licks on Route 66® Cross-Country Pet Adoption Tour Road Journal

Get Your Licks on Route 66® Cross-Country Pet Adoption Tour Road Journal

September 18, 2015

 

WEEK ONE

Susan Sims

Publisher

FIDO Friendly magazine

 

We have already been through Riverside and Los Angeles, CA and Phoenix, AZ. It’s been HOT! The heat has kept some folks home but those who have come out to the events are spinning our wheel loaded with prizes from our sponsors listed below and adopting their new best friends!

 

In Riverside, a woman was there to pick up her lost dog. The dog had been missing three days and has one eye and is blind in that eye. She was so happy to be reunited with her canine companion, it was truly a joy for everyone to see. After she paid the fee for the rescue cost and chip, she was so happy, she donated $10 additional to spin the wheel! So we thought our sponsors wouldn’t mind if we loaded up a goodie bag provided by Petcurean with all the prizes she would need to take home with her beloved pet.

 

At our kick-off event at the Van Nuys shelter, our spokesperson of the CBS TV series, Lucky Dog, Brandon McMillan, was on hand to meet new adoptees, sign autographs and to answer training and behavioral questions. The crew was there to film and footage will be part of an upcoming episode so check your local listings for dates and channels.

 

Also in attendance were cast from the CBS daily soap, The Young & The Restless, Camryn Grimes and Melissa Ordway. They visited with a few rescue dogs and I thought Camryn was smitten with one very cute puppy. Not sure if that puppy found a new forever home with Camryn that day or not, but it did look like love at first sight.

 

We worked with HALO Animal Rescue in Phoenix at the Metro Center Mall. They have a store within the mall to showcase rescue animals available for adoption and it makes for a great experience for those looking for their new forever pets! This is also the perfect working business model to showcase shelter pets in a retail environment so kudos to HALO. Their volunteers also made the evening fun by working the boom box to draw people to our event.

 

Volunteers are the lifeblood to all shelter organizations and we thank you all for what you do for the animals!

 

People are asking us about our two rescue hounds, Junior and Jake. Of course, we take them with us every year and while we work each event, they are ensconced at a doggy day care. We pick them up when it’s time to drive to the next city and with our Mercedes Sprinter provided by SprinterRentals, they are snug and safe in their crates during the road trip.

 

That’s it for week one. We are off to Albuquerque and Santa Fe, New Mexico so come out and see us if you are in the area and remember, Leave No Dog Behind®!

 

Los Angeles

Host Hotel

The Langham

http://www.langhamhotels.com/en/the-langham/pasadena/overview/the-langham-huntington-doggie-program/

 

 

Host Doggy Daycare

Ruff House

http://ruffhousepetresort.com

 

 

Phoenix

Host Hotel

The Phoenician

https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/phxlc-the-phoenician-a-luxury-collection-resort-scottsdale

 

Host Doggy Daycare

The Barking Dog

http://www.thebarkingdog.com/scottsdale/

 

 

Please visit all of our great sponsors who have helped make the life saving tour possible:

 

Advocate Sponsor

Shelby: A Magical Holiday Tail Coming Soon to DVD and Digital HD.

Community Sponsors

Zeus Dog Toys

http://usa.hagen.com/Zeus-Bomber

Petcurean petcurean

DERMagic dermagic.com

Blue Dog Bakery bluedogbakery.com

Media Sponsor Animal Radio animalradio.com/top.php

Vehicle Sponsor SprinterRentals sprinter-rentals.com

Car Wrap Sponsor WellPet wellpet.com

Spinning Wheel Sponsors

John Paul Pet  johnpaulpet.com

Synlawn  synlawn.com

Petmate  petmate.com

Sleepypod sleepypod.com

Fresh Scents  freshscents.com

Pets Best  petsbest.com

Buddy Belts  buddy-belts.com

Kurgo kurgo.com

Earth Rated earthrated.com

Charlee Bear charleebear.com

Kids n Pets kidsnpets.com

Pet Botanics petbotanics.com

Simply Fido simplyfido.com

Bike Tow Leash biketowleash.com

Pet Gift Box petgiftbox.com

Evercare evercare.com

FIDO Friendly Magazine   FIDOFriendly.com

Related blog posts

Comments
Comments